Yendi MP, Farouk Aliu Mahama sworn in as Board Chair of GIISDEC

The Member of Parliament for Yendi Constituency Farouk Aliu Mahama has been sworn in as Board Chairman of the Ghana Integrated Iron and Steel Development Cooperation (GIISDEC).

The MP, together with his board members took the oath of Office, oath of Allegiance and oath of Secrecy, an indication of their readiness and commitment to serve the country.

The Minister responsible for Lands and Natural Resources Samuel Abu Jinapor who presided over the wearing in ceremony charged the newly board members to work in harmony with the Chief Executive officer of the agency to realize the Presidents vision in the efficient exploitation of the country’s Iron resources.

The Minister who described the board chairman as energetic and competent indicated that the expertise of the Chairman Farouk Aliu Mahama coupled with the ideas of his team members will be and effective force in delivering on their mandate.

The Board Chariman, Farouk Aliu Mahama in his acceptance speech expressed gratitude to President Akufo Addo for the opportunity given him to serve in his government. “We shall spare neither strength nor effort to make sure that we make such worthy contribution as would enable His Excellency the President to leave a proud, lasting and sustainable legacy in both the downstream and upstream of the iron and steel Industry. We pledge not to let you down and we will live up to the oath we just sworn and discharge our responsibilities to the best of our ability”. He added

The Yendi MP also noted that the team will “set strategic policy directions, collaborate with management and staff and operate with maximum efficiency to ensure the success of GIISDEC”.

He also added that a calculated roadshows will be designed to provide a platform to attract vital investments that will drive economic improvement, job creation, and sustainable value creation in the iron and steel industry for all stakeholders along the chain and all these is projected to be achieved within a year- that is by the end of 2022.

Other members of the board include:

Chief Executive Officer, GIISDEC  –        Mr. Kwabena Bonsu Fordwor

Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources Rep  –  Hon George Mireku Duker

Ministry of Trade and Industry Rep          –     Hon Micheal Okyere Baafi

Minerals Commission Rep                       –        Mr. Martin Kwaku Ayisi

Presidents Nominee                                  –       Mr. Kay F. Amoah(Jnr) Esq.

Presidents Nominee                                  –         Mr. Ernest Kusi

Presidents Nominee                                  –     Mad. Hanifa Yahaya Esq.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here